Some Days Are Just Like That

Today is Tuesday. On Tuesday the kids and I go to GILLBT to eat fried yam for lunch with Paul. Since we have all had a hot meal, I take this day as a break from cooking and we just have sandwiches for dinner.

I’ve been wanting to do some baking for awhile now and I just haven’t had the chance. I thought I’d take advantage of the fact that I didn’t have to prepare a meal and use today as my baking day. I got the kids all ready and sent them outside to play. Then I started to pull out all that I needed for the things that I wanted to make.

I had a little bit of cherry pie filling and promised Paul that I would make him some cherry muffins. We used most of the filling on waffles one morning and so there was just the right amount leftover for muffins. I whipped up the muffin batter and then worked on the crumb topping (a muffin isn’t a muffin without crumb topping!).

Once the muffins were in the oven, I decided to make some oatmeal chocolate chip bars. For some reason, I am not good at making cookies and so I thought I would try to make bars instead. I had a bag of dark chocolate chips that someone brought to me and this seemed like a good way to use them. The recipe calls for the whole bag but I think some may have ended up in my stomach! While I was working on the cookie dough, the timer for the muffins went off. They were still pretty raw so I put them back in and set the timer for 10 more minutes.

Just as I was pouring the cookie dough/batter into a pan, I smelled something strange. Nope, it wasn’t a burning smell. It was gas. The gas on my stove went out, the muffins weren’t quite finished and I had an entire pan of raw cookie bars! I called Paul and asked him if he could come and change the gas tank. He thought I was capable of doing such a task and told me what to do over the phone. I was feeling really good about myself because I didn’t hear the sound of any gas leaking or smell any gas as I attached the regulator. Not even Paul can switch the gas tanks without the hissing sound of gas. Then it occurred to me that maybe this is not an accomplishment but rather a sign that something is wrong.

I went back inside and tried to light one of the burners on the stove to get the gas flowing again. I turned the knob to the highest setting and it lit but the flame was barely flickering. I turned it off and lit the oven, again on the highest setting, and again it barely flickered and then…it went out. This is when I figured out that both gas tanks were empty! I covered the raw cookie dough and put it in the refrigerator. I left the muffins in the oven hoping that it was still hot enough to finish the baking process. The muffins are flat but still moist and seemingly baked all the way through. I was hoping to do more baking including another batch of muffins and some granola. In the afternoon I wanted to make cinnamon roll dough and pretzel dough to freeze for another day.

It is a good thing that I am only making sandwiches for dinner, otherwise, I’d have to start gathering wood for an outdoor cooking fire.

Never a dull moment here, I tell ya!

Leave a Reply

